Thursday, November 10, 2011

AIB announces Winners of 2011 AIBs International Media Awards

The Association for International Broadcasting (AIB) announced the winners of its annual global media excellence awards at a gala event in London on 9 November 2011. 

The AIB Awards are unique in broadcasting because of their independence from commercial interests - an independent panel of judges consisting of respected professionals from the broadcasting and wider media industries selected the winners from entries submitted from all over the world. 

Categories covered by the ‘AIBs’ include separate awards for radio and television, cross-media productions, as well as awards for innovation in marketing, use of technology, and a People's Choice award where the public determined the winner in the category 'Best coverage of Democracy Uprisings' via online voting on Yahoo! Maktoob. 

Simon Spanswick, AIB CEO said: ”The range and quality of entries was outstanding – what particularly struck me and the judges this year was the great work in cross-media where tight integration of content and concepts between platforms was demonstrated. Overall, entries to the AIBs demonstrated journalists' determination everywhere to get to the heart of a story, skilful use of terrific footage and world-class story telling." 

Hosted by Annabel Croft, Eurosport presenter and former tennis champion, the event was attended by senior executives, producers and journalists from media organisations around the world, and featured AWD ambassador Sarina Arnold and Swiss film maker Helen Stehli Pfister as special guests "in conversation". The 2011 AIBs are sponsored by Eurosport, OASYS, Russian Travel Guide TV and Vizrt. 

(Source : Association for International Broadcasting)

No comments:

Post a Comment